Fairphone 4

I have had the same second-hand phone for over four years now and it had virtually stopped working; so I knew it was time to get a new phone. But with smartphones making up an estimated 1% of all global emissions, I didn’t want to get one that would have a large impact on my carbon footprint or had exploited workers to make it.

Before I dive into the post, I just want to say that this is not a paid or sponsored advertisement- just from my research it seemed a phone worth talking about. Myself needing to get a new phone, it seemed a great opportunity to write about it!

My first impressions was that it all came in recyclable cardboard packaging with no plastic in sight. This really made me feel that the company is really working to meet its slogan of “the phone that cares for people and planet”. Inside it provides the phone with a quick start guide, giving you everything you need to get your new phone up and running.

This brings me onto my next point, unlike other smartphones it doesn’t come with bundles of other technological products like a charger or headphones. This is because the company believes there is to much electronic waste and I already owned a charger that fitted and headphones. However, you can add these products on if you don’t own them.

The phone itself has a modular design and is easy to repair. This clever design means if something goes wrong with the phone, you can most likely just take the back off and swap out one part instead of having to get rid of the entire phone, cutting down on electronic waste. The longer you own your phone the smaller the lower your environmental footprint, so everything about this phone has longevity in mind.

The phone itself is made from fair and recycled material and all workers who have made the phone, have had good working conditions. The phone is also electronic waste neutral. All the amazing features of this phone means ‘German Ecolabel Blue Angel certifies Fairphone 4 as the world’s most sustainable smartphone.’

However, the disadvantages to the phone is that it is very expensive (but part of this is to ensure that everyone in the chain is paid fair wage), but this means that many people would be unable to afford this. Also, for people looking at that price range, there will be ones for the same price with perhaps better camera quality or other features.

For me though, the Fairphone was the perfect phone for me. If you would like to learn more about the company as a whole or would be interested in getting a Fairphone, then check out their website here!

I hope you have found this post interesting and if you have any thoughts about the Fairphone specifically or how technology could play a role in the solution to the climate crisis, then comment below or drop me a message on the contact me page!

Leave a comment